General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 02-12-2008, 06:08 PM   #1  
The Radiant One

S/C/G: 250/142/135

Height: 5'2"

Default Any gardeners here?

It's that time of year where I am really itching for the snow to be gone and get digging in the garden! I just started some seeds - some salvia, and some double coneflowers. The coneflowers are a hybrid, so I don't know what the seeds will bring, should be interesting.

I am also doing some black eyed susans from seed and snap dragons, although I have not started those yet. We moved last year, and my garden was full of annuals until I figured stuff out. This year the perennials are going in.
fiberlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 06:31 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 180

Height: 5FT.3

gardener here from Vermont
blkftind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 06:38 PM   #3  
I'm a Loser ;)

S/C/G: SCG: 255/see ticker/160

Height: 5'9"

I'm a beginner gardner... been trying a few things over the past couple of years.

I tried pumpkins (imagine 3 patches in a 10X10 yard LOL). I got 3 nice medium sized pumpkins, but oh my god, I had to trim at least a foot of vines each day.

Onions didn't work good in my garden

Carrots were nice as well as radishes. I did herb pots - which were wonderful because I LOVE to cook with fresh herbs. The only downside is I always had stray cats wandering into my yard to sniff, chew etc.

Tomatoes worked well a couple of years ago, but last year was compeltely HORRIBLE for tomatoes.

I planted a raspberry and blueberry bush and they turned out wonderfully last year.

This year: I'm going with Tomatoes again - this time I'm planting them directly into the ground. I'll also try bush beans and peas. More radishes and herbs. I may also try iceberg lettuce

Last edited by tamaralynn; 02-12-2008 at 06:39 PM.
tamaralynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 07:09 PM   #4  

S/C/G: 218/175/155

Height: 5'6"