Featherweights For those with just a few pounds, or trying to lose those last few pounds.

Old 01-22-2011, 07:35 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 140/140/130

Height: 5'3

Default Advice needed...

Hello,

I'm totally new to dieting at all, as I've never struggled with my weight. I wouldn't say I'm struggling now either, but could use some advice.

Typically, I'm around 130 pounds, but right now I'm more at 140. Fitness isn't an issue...I trained for months and completed a marathon 2 months ago (in under 5 hours, so I'm not walking) and for the past several years, I've run 2-3 half marathons a year (typically in 2 hours, a 9:15 pace, so again, not walking), with other short distances thrown in there. Through the marathon training, however, I gained close to 10 pounds! I thought running would make me smaller (well it did make my butt non-existent...)! Maybe I should also mention that up until September, I had been a vegetarian for more than a year, but with the intense training, I felt that I needed to incorporate some meat into my diet, mostly chicken and turkey. I continue to eat meat(feel it's healthier for me now) but I'm a conscious eater and care greatly where my food comes from and how it's processed. I rarely eat red meat. I should mention, that although I've gained weight, I'm still a size 4, even at 140 pounds. Saying I'm a size 4 on a weight loss forum, does make me feel ridiculous.

I haven't been running since the marathon (marathon training is hard on the body!) but I have been working out a few times a week and watching what I eat. I have tried to eat around 1400 calories a day, sometimes a bit more if I'm working out. If I'm working out at all, I cannot go below this calorie allotment, event with this, I'm hungry...I've used an online program to keep track, so I'm confident my count is accurate. The scale hasn't budged. I know it sounds ridiculous to those who have to lose more, but I'm the heaviest I've ever been and it's frustrating that the scale isn't budging.