Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 04-23-2009, 12:21 PM   #1  
Callie1983

S/C/G: 192/153/135

Height: 5ft6in

Default Tried Hot Yoga???

I'm thinking about going to a Hot Yoga class tonight... 90 minutes of yoga in a 105 degree room... I've never done yoga before and I'm not in the best of shape... I'm kinda afraid I might pass out... Anyone have any experiences with this?

Thank you!!!
Callie1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 01:26 PM   #2  
Lori

S/C/G: 227/179.5/140

Height: 5'1

I am not a big fan of Hot Yoga.The one time I did it I thought I was going to have a heart attack.Of course I don't like being that hot.You do sweat a great deal so if you go make sure you have a lot of water and a dry pair of clothes to change into when you are done.I prefer slow flow yoga.It is relaxing and works all the kinks out.If you have a good teacher you can even work up a good sweat.In yoga class last week we did the slow flow yoga and used the resistance bands with it.They are great for toning.You never know if you will like or dislike it until you try.So I would give it a whirl at least once.You might love it.
Clanori is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2009, 03:46 PM   #3  
Closed

S/C/G: 244/165/137

Height: 5' 7"

HUGE HUGE fan over here! I started hot yoga 10 pounds ago, right at your start weight, and I absolutely love it, even though I am crap at it!! The philosophy of Hot Yoga is that no one is too old, too inflexible, nor too out of shape to give it your all. All the classes are for beginners and it is really, really easy to follow.
Here are some things that I found out when I started:
First of all -- this is a great, great strenuous workout. Kind of like Yoga Bootcamp. Which I really like. I get my meditation in by having to focus 100% on the pose, so this really clears my mind. I've tried other more gentle forms of Yoga and I really like the butt kick aspect of Bikrams.