Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 11-20-2008, 11:08 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 148/147/120

Height: 5'5

Default Half Marathon/Marathon?

I am new at this and have been searching through the threads but havent seen much on half marathon/marathon runners.
There are a few running threads but didnt finf anything on this specifically.
I know that everyone is one is at different levels of physical activity but I was just wondering if there are any of you out there training for half marathons.
I am running a half in 7 weeks and my next year to a full one.
Just looking for advice and tips, and of course motivation!

Last edited by SarahD; 11-20-2008 at 11:09 AM.
SarahD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 01:29 PM   #2  
HMS

S/C/G: 94/85/65 kg

Height: 5'8"

Hi Sarah ... hope your training is going well ... I did (well plodded)a couple of halfs this year ... I'm currently having a wee break from jogging (well long runs anyway) and doing the weights and cardio thing at the gym to see if that makes a difference with the weightloss ..... I am looking to do my local half-marathon in May ..... I'm not a great runner .. but i really got a sense of accomplishment out of finishing

Last edited by HMS; 11-20-2008 at 01:29 PM.
HMS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 01:59 PM   #3  
Just Me

S/C/G: 364/--/182

Height: 5'6"

I've just started running and I'm looking at training for a half next year.
nelie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2008, 02:24 PM   #4  

I know it is (or I am hoping) a big sense of accompllishment. Not that I LOVE to run, but I know I will be proud of myself if I were to complete one. After this I am hoping to train for a Marathon but the only issue here is weather... I live in AZ.
So January is perfect running weather but soon after that its too hot (

How many miles did you get up to before the race? I am thinking I will do 11 miles two weeks before.
Old 11-20-2008, 03:04 PM   #5  
HMS