Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 11-03-2008, 07:19 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 215.5/185.5/150

Height: 5'5"

Default When do you stop?

Hi everyone,

I'm a beginner at all this exercise stuff. Mostly I have been doing a mix of cardio (mixing C25K and walking) and weight training.

Unfortunately, my treadmill needs a part replaced and has quit working. So, instead of doing nothing yesterday I decided to try one of the fitness routines from FITtv.

Okay. I *ONLY* did a total of 30 minutes, and I was pretty awful at doing all of it. I'd never done a lunge or a squat. I did do my best though because I have been working out for as close to 60 minutes as I can and I only planned to do 30 minutes yesterday.

Welp. That 30 minutes *really* did me in. I'm sore all over today. I managed through it until I went down to try to do my weight work. I just couldn't make myself do it. I just hurt too much all over.

So. Now I'm left with a dilemma. Did I cheat because I gave up today? Should I have just 'worked through' the pain/soreness? Am I trying to do too much and how can I know when I'm trying to do too much.

Just as a point of reference, my schedule was something like this:

Mon - 45-60 min cardio
Tues - 45-60 min weights
Wed - cardio
Thursday - weights
Fri - cardio
Sat- weights
Sun - rest

Any advice so I don't feel like I've cheated today? Or, did I cheat? Eye yi yi.
beth4365 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 10:28 PM   #2  
Abe's Mom

S/C/G: 196/142.8/125

Height: 5'4"

your routine looks good--- and if you only did half hour thats fine too---as the bare minimum is to aim for at least 30 min a day --- but yes pull through the pain -- i always find the second day as the toughest because youre sore from day one but then the third day is much better --- keep up what you're doing and see what works--- more importantly stick to whatever plan you choose and change it up often to keep from getting bored with it