Old 06-19-2007, 08:51 PM   #1  
Misfit

S/C/G: 264.5/238/150

Height: 5'6

Default Dr changed meds

HI all hope you are having a great week so far.

my Dr changed my meds today when I went to talk to him about what a nasty period I am having. He's *VERY* happy with the weight loss so far but I told him that the metformin just keeps making me nauseous so I don't want to take it anymore. The first thing he suggested was this glipizide so now I'm on 5mg once a day. The pharmacist says to take it with a meal because it does act rather quick but is long acting so might help with the nausea. Other than that, I have no knowledge of this stuff. Does anyone else have personal experience with this stuff? Is it a relatively weight-neutral drug so I don't have to struggle to get more weight off?

So I'm going to try it until my real appt on July 19th when he will test my a1c, etc and see how that goes. He thinks that maybe I could do the glip with a lower does of met. I think that might help keep my levels down in the am, right? I am excited and nervous to see what my levels will be by then. My blood pressure was 117 over 79 which is lower than it was before the contest started. Then his scale had me at 239, which normally weighs me higher than my home scale. I'm chalking that mini weight loss up to the PMS pills I'm taking this week but that's another story.

TIA

Missi
cmbmom05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 09:20 PM   #2  

S/C/G: Slow but steady

Height: 5' 11"

Ask about Byetta too. It is great for sugar control. And had a bonus of appetite supressant. I used to take it for IR and PCOS and i LOVED it. Lost my medicine coverage and it was too high to pay out of pocket w/o insurance. I miss it.
Get n healthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2007, 09:23 PM   #3