Depression and Weight Issues Have you been diagnosed with depression, are possibly on depression medication, and find it affects your weight loss efforts? Post here for support!

Old 03-09-2016, 12:01 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 175/143/130

Height: 5'4"

Default Needing some help

Hi all! I used to be a member here and life caught up with me in a major way, and I slipped off the radar. But I'm back and looking for some advice or words of wisdom since I don't know where else to turn.

I've had a lot of life changes, particularly when it comes to jobs. To make a long story short, I studied journalism in school with every intention on becoming a writer. But this was in 2011 when the economy was particularly terrible, and print publishing is on a steady decline, so jobs are scarce. (Seems people read most of their news on the internet these days.. who knew? )

I took a job as an executive assistant, completely away from writing, to pay down my student debt, and ended up in marketing and got laid off from a job. But at that point, I had no student debt, so I decided to start from the bottom and begin writing again. It was the best thing that ever happened to me. It forced me to go after my true passions in life.

To start, things were great. I was working from home, it was summer, so I spent lots of time working on my laptop at a coffee shop. I felt happy and free for the first time, doing what I loved on my own schedule. It felt like freelance writing was made for me.

Then, I accepted a full-time job which I was excited about, and on the ninth day there, the company (it was a startup) shut down. They never told me in advance this would happen, though my boss did apologize and say he thought things might get better, but ultimately, I went home after nine whole days of work.