Depression and Weight Issues Have you been diagnosed with depression, are possibly on depression medication, and find it affects your weight loss efforts? Post here for support!

Closed Thread

Old 05-06-2002, 11:08 AM   #1  

Unhappy Looking for a forum to call home

Hi Everyone,
I've been a registered member here for about a year but never found a place to call home.

I have suffered from PMDD for most of my adult life and since the birth of my daughter 2 1/2 years ago have suffered severe mood swings and boughts of depression. I currently take Effexor but not really pleased with the results from it. I took Celexa for a year and a half with great results but had to stop taking it do to a very RARE side effects (I lost half my hair). I've tried other medications without much relief. My husband and I both believe i have a hormone imbalance but have yet to find a Dr. that will listen to me and do the appropriate test to find out for sure.

My weight has yoyoed signifigantly over the last year and i'm hoping that finding and giving support to others going threw the same things as i am will help me to stable out and gradually lose the weight i have to lose. I know that my weight only adds to the problem of the way i feel. I was able to lose about 43 pounds with WW but since having trouble with my medications i have put half of that back on. I am a comfort eater.

Ok now that i've given more info than most of you probably care to know, I hope I can be of support to some of you going threw the same things i am.
MrsM95
Old 05-06-2002, 02:31 PM   #2  

Default Welcome

Hi MrsM ,

Glad you could join us. I am sorry you have had such a rough time of it with medications. Please go back to your doctor and ask him/her about other medications or increasing your dosage. I don't know how long you have been on Effexor, but I do remember when I was on it, it took me a while to feel a change. I did eventually end up at double the starter dose... 300mg maybe?