Depression and Weight Issues Have you been diagnosed with depression, are possibly on depression medication, and find it affects your weight loss efforts? Post here for support!

Old 08-30-2007, 09:43 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 212/212/140

Height: 5 2"

Default any advice/meds/seeing doc soon!

hey everyone! my name is trish. i have been struggling with severe bipolar disorder for years. i have usually always taken wellbutrin and am on that now (450 mg per day) and also topamax (100 mg. per day) and risperdal (2 mg. per day) - the risperdal is causing weight gain. How is geodon for anyone who has tried it regarding weight gain and as an anti psychotic? does it cause low sex drive? what about abilify? I tried that but i am a writer, and i felt a sort of muscle stiffness. has anyone else felt that as a side effect from abilify, and does it go away? how does abilify stand up in weight issues, and as an anti psychotic, and in sex drive? or does anyone have a different one to recommend?

also, does topamax cause low sex drive? has anyone noticed?

One more thing? my doctor will not prescribe me a medication that i feel i need. he is a new doctor to me as i am in a new area. i need some atavan for anxiety, to be able to take it occasionally when i need it. i particularly don't like the one's that stay in your system every day, that i have to take everyday, like paxil, etc. i know there is valium, and xanax, but he won't prescribe me those either. he had me try atarax, and another one, but they did absolutely nothing for me. he does prescribe me ambien, but that is wearing off and does not work as well for me as it used to. Does anyone know of an antianxiety sort of like atavan that works just as good, maybe something new, that maybe i can suggest?

please let me know all this so i can write it down as ideas for my appointment. thanks a lot! I am excited for the replies. and if anyone has a question for me, i'd be glad to answer as well.

cutejeans is offline   Reply With Quote