Old 03-21-2006, 11:58 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 197/199/145

Height: 5'0"

Default thinking about doing Atkins but...

I've been doing SBD for a couple years now, but stalled last year. Haven't gained any back but can't seem to drop any lately.

I can't seem to get past the "low carb is bad for you" mentality.

I know people who have lost the weight on atkins and atkins food is what I really like because it's such a chore to force myself to eat 4.5 cups of vegetables a day on SBD. I know that after induction eventually the 2 diets are kind of pretty similiar-with whole grains and non-starchy fruits and veggies.

Has anyone switched from a moderate carb diet to a low carb diet and seen success?

I guess I need to go back and read the book again. There are so many now, which one is the best?

Sarah
sarahyu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 04:14 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 139/139/125 or 9 stone goal

Height: 5'2

I'm in a much the same boat. I some times wonder if this is the healthiest way due to all the bad press it has had lately. I keep flicking between the 2 diets. Obviously this is not the wisest thing to do. The other thing that I have read is that you should just pick a plan and stick with it. That is the most successful way to lose weight. I'm also influenced by what I hear about how the stars lose weight in Hollywood. George Clooney, Jessica Simpson, Britney Spears and Jennifer Aniston to name a few are big low carbers and have been very successful very quickley. So that has been an influence in my choosing a low carb life style. Oh I also read today in "Self" magazine that sugar can be a big cause of wrinkles. That right there was enough for me.
So I hope that has helped anyone who is wondering if low carb is a way they want to go. Even if they know the science behind it or not.
Britmum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 05:56 PM   #3  
250/ticker/160

Height: 5"9