Old 01-07-2009, 09:46 PM   #1  
19Deltawifey

Default Targeted Ketogenic Diet (TKD) anyone?

Well I was just doing the regular Atkins until I figured out that my workouts were being counter productive because I could barely find the energy to workout. I have been running almost every day for the past 5 months. So to make a long story short I was running about 2 miles a day then doing the elliptical or stairclimber for about 10-20 minutes, and then 20 minutes of lifting weights. With less then 30 carbs I had zero energy and what used to be fairly easy turned into impossible to do.

So I started looking up other low carb ketogenic diets and I stumbled across the TKD diet. You eat about 25-50 carbs before you workout, and you can also have more carbs during and after you workout. It allows me to do very high intensity workouts. When I say high intensity I mean running for 30 minutes with a heartbeat of 165+ non stop. I'm not talking about walking or other low intensity workouts.

Sorry this is turning into a long post. But today I ate about 45 carbs before my workout and 30 carbs during my workout and I felt great and was able to do my regular workout routine without feeling like I was going to die. About 3 hours later I was back in ketosis, I can taste it and feel it. I feel very high and lethargic when I am in ketosis. I was just wondering if there are any others who are doing the TKD? And how many carbs do you eat before exercising/during/ post workout? Thanks

Last edited by 19Deltawifey; 01-08-2009 at 11:51 AM. Reason: I put 30 hours instead of 30 minutes
Old 01-07-2009, 10:25 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 184/175.5/155

Height: 6'2"