Old 08-08-2011, 09:45 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 230/230/130

Height: 5'4"

Default Oh My Goodness!

Hello,

This is my first try at calorie counting. I am starting with 1200 calories. I had what I considered a light lunch, well when I went to add up the calories it turned out that I had used 500 calories. I was shock because I was thinking I could have this really hugh dinner. It didn't dawn on me that the meal was that big. It really was an aha moment.

Now I know why I weigh what I weigh.
Imannott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 09:52 PM   #2  
Made of Starstuff

Tracking what we eat can be an ENORMOUS eye-opening event. It's so easy to assume we don't eat as much as we really consume. But, then, when we start listing it out... there it is! Right in front of us, no mental fudging.

Side note: You may want to begin with more calories to start. That way you'll have some wiggle room as you lose more and more weight =)
Lovely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2011, 10:05 PM   #3  

Height: 5'10.5"

I hear you completely. I never knew but before I started tracking my calories I was consuming close to 2500 on a good day, 3000+ on a bad day. I was shocked as well. I would start a little higher as well, you don't want to starve yourself when you're not used to consuming smaller amounts of food. I am in my first month and I have my 1800 calorie days still and still end up feeling just satisfied enough, but I am losing weight because compared to what I was eating before it's nothing! So, yes it's shocking, but now you are armed with the information you didn't have before and there is something you can do about it. I've tried a zillion different ways of eating and I have only ever lost weight counting calories because otherwise, i just have no idea what I am consuming. And at least your weight is not a baffling dilemma! You know exactly what to do to get back feeling your finest. Good luck, hope to see you around on the forums!