Old 11-18-2010, 05:09 PM   #1  

Default What is the average weight loss per week when counting calories

I'm new to this whole calorie counting thing, and this is the first time I've had success losing weight. At first I wasn't even trying to lose weight. In September had an increased activity level and actually lost nearly 20 pounds from then to October. After realizing I lost nearly 20 pounds this made me want to keep going and I began counting calories. Since I have lost a total of 35-36 pounds. At first the weight loss was really fast but its slowing down and I'm starting to get discouraged. Since I'm not getting that extra activity that I was before I'm trying to make up with taking walks as much as possible. I knew the plateau was sure to happen but now that its here I'm bummed.

I started writing it down this month. I've been losing about 2 pounds a week this month. Can you tell me if this is good progress or extremely slow? I know everyone is different but just let me know what you think. From what I understand 2 pounds a week is a healthy weight loss.
GypsyQueen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 05:20 PM   #2  

S/C/G: SW:394/310/180

Height: 5'6"

It's not just good progress, it's great progress.

Unless you weigh more than 500 lbs, losing two pounds a week after a month or two from your starting point is great weight loss (and even if you did weight 500 lbs, I still wouldn't call it terrible weight loss, any stable weight loss is good progress, because most people give up and gain it back).
kaplods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 05:44 PM   #3  

Quote:
Originally Posted by kaplods View Post
It's not just good progress, it's great progress.