Old 06-15-2007, 12:23 AM   #1  
athlete in training

S/C/G: 135/131/125

Height: 5'9"

Default Calorie Intake vs. Calories Burned

Okay. Please bear with me because a lot of people usually come in and ask these questions. I'm new to the whole weight loss thing. But I'm mostly concerned with body fat percentage, not actual weight.

Anyways. I was wondering the totals of calories and how it all boils down. I know that I ate a total of 1380 calories today. I did 2 hours of high impact aerobics totaling to 354 calories burned. Does that mean because I exercised today's total calories is 1026? Is that healthy?

If someone could explain to me exactly how this all works that would be wonderful. According to PUSH I should be having an intake of 1945 calories. (taking 2245 and subtracting 300 to lose weight) So I know todays was a little low. My resting Metabolic rate is 1449 calories. Does that mean I need to burn 496 calories a day? Thanks in advance to help me sort this out. =)
subLIME is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 10:24 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 295/225/back to Onederland

Height: 5'5"

Well, you asked a lot of questions. I'll try to answer some of them.

First, if you ate 1380 calories, that's what you ate. The exercise doesn't subtract from what you ate.

Second, there are a million calculators, and they are all estimates. I think it's important to know that.

Your intake is made up of what you eat. Think of your output (calories burned) as made up of 3 parts:
- RMR -- resting metabolic rate. This is the calories you'd burn from basic functions -- if you slept all day.
- general activity. Everything you do burns calories. From brushing teeth to driving, to doing the dishes.
- exercise.