Old 06-06-2007, 06:37 PM   #1  
One Pound at a Time

S/C/G: 190/149/150

Height: 5'6"

Question How do I figure out my calorie needs?

I am new to the calorie counting world and just don't really know how much I should be eating on a daily basis. I'm at 185 and trying to lose 40 pounds. I go to the gym 4-5 days a week and do about 45 minutes of cardio and weight training as well. Just curious about how I figure out how many calories I should be consuming per day...
OnceUponADrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 06:49 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 209/209/160

Height: 5'9

Hey there,

You'll need to use one of the online calorie calculators: enter your age, height, weight and activity level and see what they say you need to eat to maintain your current weight. (Hint: put in 'lightly active' rather than moderately or strenuously active for a more accurate count.)

http://www.caloriecontrol.org/calcalcs.html

The general rule is that 1lb of fat equals 3500 calories. If you reduce your calories by 500/day, you should lose a pound a week. If you reduce by 1000, you should lose two pounds a week. (Or conversely, if you reduce your calories by 500 and burn 500 at the gym, then you'd probably lose 2lb a week.

These things are all pretty individual however, so you'll need to play around with your calorie counts until you find what works for your body. Starting at 1500 calories a day would probably be pretty safe.
baffled111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 07:22 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 165/147/128

Height: 5'3"

I wish you could remember what you normally eat ... put that in a program like fitday.com and see how much it is. From there you can decide how much less you'd like to try.

Stick around ... we'll help you through.
srmb60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 07:31 PM   #4  
One Pound at a Time

S/C/G: 190/149/150

Height: 5'6"