Old 05-30-2012, 10:00 PM   #1  
I'm a loser, yay!

S/C/G: 220/220/140

Height: 5'2"

Question Accuracy of digital vs mechanical scales

I have a digital scale I have been using for about 7 years now and when I check my weight I usually don't do it just once, I do it a couple of times because the scale often changes. For example, the first weight will be say 202 and then when I get on again it says 200 or 203 or some variation. It's very hard to know what I have lost this way.

I went to a home store and tried out a digital scale there and same thing. It said 204 or 203 then changed by a pound each time.

Finally I tried a mechanical scale (the old fashioned one with the wheel!) and it told me I was 199 lbs and I stepped on it like 4 or 5 times and got pretty much the same result each time.

So my question is, which type of scale is the most accurate and trustworthy? Is there a specific brand you can recommend? Also, which weight should I go with? The 202 or 199? And should I get a mechanical scale over a digital?
everdeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 10:07 PM   #2  
Move over Kim Kardashian!

S/C/G: 220/ticker/135

Height: 5'5"

I don't know which one is more trustworthy, I have a digital scale that I weigh on daily, and my mom has a mechanical scale, so when I go to her house I like to strip down to my undies and weigh myself there, and it's always 5lb less than the one at home.

I like that surprise and it makes me feel good about myself, but I stick to the weight on the digital scale, and when I reach my goal on my digital scale, I'll weigh myself on the mechanical one just for sh!ts and giggles
caramelkitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2012, 11:03 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 204/114/120

Height: 5'