Old 06-23-2005, 11:28 AM   #1  
slow and steady

S/C/G: 185/see signature/135

Height: 5'4"

Default Water question

I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this question, since water isn't exactly nutrition, but here goes.

I've heard that you should drink at least 8 cups of water a day, or enough so that your pee is clear. I've been drinking about 2.5-3 liters of water per day, which is well over 8 cups, but my pee is still never totally clear. Does this mean I should be drinking even more water, or is it that when they say "clear" they don't mean totally clear?
paperclippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2005, 11:57 AM   #2  
I believe in Futures

I'm not an expert, but I think if your water intake is sufficient, your urine will be clearer than usual (not dark yellow), but I don't think it can be entirely clear (like water) because when the water you ingest passes through your system, it'll pick up other substances to expel (i.e. sodium, nitrogen, phosphorous and potassium). But I guess you can always ask your Doc to get a professional medical opinion...
purplebanana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2005, 12:13 PM   #3  

Also, depending on what you eat -- including vitamins -- will impact the color. Focus on drinking enough water (8 8-oz glasses + 8 oz for each 25 pounds overweight you might be)
byugrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2005, 02:46 PM   #4  
it's always something

I've always thought that by clear, they just mean not cloudy (sign of trouble) and not clear as in colorless. I could be wrong, though.

The subject of how much water we need seems to be widely debated and even the experts don't agree.

On a recent episode of Oprah, Drs. Roizen and Oz (authors of YOU: The Owner's Manual) said we really do need 8 glasses of water a day because it helps keep our bowels healthy and moving right along (8 glasses of water plus 25 grams fiber daily)