Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Closed Thread

Old 06-01-2001, 07:52 AM   #1  
WW Jazz Diva! LOL

Thumbs down

Hi All,

I just wanted to post a few suggestions here about things that have been working for me!

As a musician, I'm really drawn to anything musical, and I find that I have the most fun and get the best workout when I'm dancing.

My workout consists of free weights for my arms, crunches and the ab roller for my stomache, and dancing, dancing, dancing for my cardio!

I go swing and latin dancing about once or twice a week. It's SO much fun, and the crowd is always really friendly.....not like the meat-market club scene. People actually go there to dance and EVERYONE dances. I know that the swing scene has been revived and most places offer lessons before-hand. I'm telling you......I get the best workout EVER when I go out dancing.

Also, I use two dance videos: Kathy Smith's Latin Rythym and Paula Abdul's Get Up And Dance. The Kathy Smith video is easy to follow and lots of fun. Paula Abdul's is a bit more challenging, the moves are a little more complex, but stilll lots of fun. I feel like I'm in a dance video when I do it. LOL

Anyhow, I just wanted to throw this out there becuase I know personally, I hate to excercize and dancing doesn't seem like excercize at all! The best part is I've lost 3 inches in my thighs, 2 in my waist, 1 in my chest - all from dancing. (12 weeks)

So......good luck!

Cheers,
Taunia
Old 06-02-2001, 11:51 PM   #2  

I once taped some of my favorite oldies off the radio and did free-style aerobics with them. I had such a blast that when it was time to stop, I didn't want to! And the best part was, privacy of my own home with no audience or admission fee!

When you can find something you really like, it's sure to work really well.
Old 06-04-2001, 12:38 PM   #3  
Determined to succeed.

S/C/G: 230/ticker/130

Height: 5' 3"