Old 06-12-2013, 07:17 PM   #1  

Default Suggestions for cooking protein

Good evening everyone! This is my 2nd go round with IP. The first time around, I loved grilled chicken and baked tilapia. I brush olive oil and put sea salt on both before cooking it. I am enjoying the steaks that we make but I really don't want to eat red meat everyday and it is quite expensive. But, for some reason, I feel like I am choking it down. I need some other suggestions on how to cook other proteins and still get my oil and salt in. I would love to hear if you have any suggestions for how to prepare pork tenderloin and stay within the program.

Any suggestions on what you all eat and how you prepare it? BTW, in case you haven't figured it out, I am a rookie when it comes to the kitchen.

Thanks for all of your help!
Amy
ames1215 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 08:19 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 217/177/175

Height: 5'7"

Grill baby, grill. We load the grill up and then have grilled meats for several nights. Try a center cut pork roast with some salt/pepper (I use Montreal steak seasoning) rub it all over with a tiny bit of olive oil... Depending on size only takes an hour or so. or try salmon on the grill. At the same time I grill chicken breast (on the bones, skin on then remove it later to keep it from drying). A nice London Broil I marinate in low sodium soy mixed w/apple cider or Rice wine vinegar (be sure it is plain not flavored rice wine) and shave fresh ginger, add a few drops of sesame oil and a little Splenda for an awesome Asian teriyaki flavor.

And you don't have to put oil on your protein. Add it to your salad or veggies. In fact there had been discussion on here that it is best when added to your food rather than as cooking oil.

Enjoy lots of variety!
JLUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 09:36 PM   #3  
Started IP 03/06/2013

S/C/G: 198.8/145/145

Height: 5'8"