Old 10-23-2012, 10:13 AM   #1  
one pound at a time

S/C/G: 250/check tracker/150

Height: 5'5"

Default What is IP...explain it to me.

So I have been doing WW for the last two years(took a year off while I was pregnant) and successfully lost 98 pounds the first 11 months on the program. I got pregnant and now that my baby is 6 months old I have been on WW for 3 months and am down 30 pounds. I am working back to my previous goal and hopefully further.

I constantly see IP posts popping up on the New Posts section and I am getting more and more curious. What is IP exactly? Is it a very restrictive diet like low/no carb or something like that? Is it something you can see yourself doing for the rest of your life, rather than just until the weight is lost and then you are left trying to figure out how to maintain? This is what I love about WW, I can commit to it the rest of my life, it's a lifestyle change, not just a diet. So that's what I would need. But I really am interested in what IP is, and if I could even do it.
tschaff04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2012, 10:29 AM   #2  
Reboot 9/2014

S/C/G: 198.6/173/165

Height: 5' 8"

Ideal Protein is a high protein, low fat, low carb, low calorie diet. It is pretty restrictive, but if you poke around the IP forums you will see that we find lots of ways to have variety within the guidelines!

The diet is broken into 4 phases (when I chose to go on IP, I liked that fact that they Phase you back to more "regular" eating and DON'T just drop you off the diet once you hit your goal weight). The "weight loss" phase is Phase 1 - you eat some prepackaged foods (and not just shakes), and a set amount of veggies and real meat protein every day. Once you hit your goal weight you re-introduce dairy, grains and fruit and ease back into "regular" (but hopefully modified, because eating the "old" way is what got us fat in the first place) meals.