General chatter Because life isn't just about dieting. Play games, jokes, or share what's new in your life!

Old 11-06-2011, 08:54 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 230/see ticker/130

Height: 5'1"

Default Fear of Flying

Ok, so this is a total deviation from the weight loss thing, but I thought this would be a good place to ask for advice.

I used to fly all of the time as a kid because I was a military brat. And I had no issues with it. Then I stopped for awhile in my teens/college with only occasional flights. By the time I graduated from college I developed an extreme fear of flying. So the ironic part is that I started a career in consulting (pwc to be exact). So I entered into a world of pure travel. I actually love travelling except from the point that they close the airplane door to the point where they open it up again on the other side.

Over the years, I've developed some coping techniques. I try to devert my thoughts to other things. I sing to myself in my head. I try to read magazines. Or of course drinking alchol before and during. But they've only mildly worked. Now, I'm 35 and my travel is picking up again and I dread each and every flight. I'm exhausted by the time I get to the destination.

So do you have any tips on how to deal with a fear of flying? I know there are some courses that I can take, but they all cost money. So I was wondering if there is anything else that I can do before shelling out the money. Any suggestions?
aliasihaya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 09:56 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 216/180.6/160

Height: 5'8"

I am 36 and I used to have a horrible fear of flying. I mean like I paid my own money for a bus ticket from Washington, DC to Chicago instead of taking the FREE flight which was paid for by my job.

LOL! Crazy! I laugh when I think about it.