Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 06-21-2011, 02:34 PM   #1  
Gotta Lose to Win

S/C/G: 209/209/130

Height: 5'6

Default Treadmill advice?

so yesterday i told myself i was going to do 1 mile on the treadmill. i did one mile in about 30 mins at 3.0-3.3 mph(? dont know how its measured lol) then said ok i told my husband id be back in an hour so ill do .50 more. so i reached that and said ok ill just do 2 miles. and i did! in under just an hour. im still new to the whole treadmill thing. usually just do DDR for my workout but was getting bored. is what i did good? do i have to always do 2 miles now? can i take a 2 day break or do i NEED to keep it up everyday?
kimicat76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 02:54 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 295/tkr/195

Height: 5'9"

That's great!! I'm no fitness expert, but I have been walking/jogging for 5 months. I think the question to ask yourself is did it feel good to you?? Was your heart rate up some? Did you sweat some? To me, those are indicators that my body is benefitting from the exercise. I try to jog 3 times a week. That's like every other day, with an extra day off. Keep it up consistently and you'll be surprised and how quickly you improve... you'll be able to walk faster or at a higher incline or for longer times. When I started in Feb, I was walking the whole time. I slowly started added jogging in and now, only 5 months later, I'm jogging most of the time. I was amazed how quickly my body adapted! I'd highly recommend increasing the incline eventually, when you're ready to challenge yourself, but still walk. It increases the difficulty without the physical impact of jogging. Anyways, I'm rambling... I think you did great!! Congrats on taking the first step!! Listen to your body as you continue on!
Jen516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 03:00 PM   #3  

S/C/G: Current: 252/238/199

Height: 170 cm