Old 04-14-2011, 12:08 PM   #1  

Exclamation Atkins to calorie counting?

I am currently on atkins (only less than 2 weeks in) i have lost some weight about 8 pounds but im realizing to lose i need to eat alot more fat and cheese and eggs....which im not feeling 100 percent comfterble doing, in the back of my mind i think of what if it backfire and i gain? i am getting married in sept so i have a time restriction.

basiclly what is and average weekly loss with cal counting?
will i gain if i make the switch but just keep my carbs low?
any advice?

Thanks!

SW:205
CW:197
GW:140
ericamrodrigues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 12:28 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 207/198/170

Height: 5'9"

I'm pretty new to this, so I can't answer your question completely.

I started as a calorie counter and tried it for 3 weeks @ 1200 calories a day (5'9/205lbs) and was gaining weight, so I upped it to 1400 calories a day and evened out.

I got frustrated and decided to try the Atkins diet. With that, I've been losing about a lb a day, but I'm still in the first week.

I'm actually still calorie counting though. My doctor recommended that I stay around 1600 calories a day and I do that along with the low carbs (under 20 carbs a day).

I'm not eating a ton of eggs. Maybe an omelette every few days. And I try not to eat a ton of fat either. Most of my fat intake comes from mayo. And cheese binds me up so I really only eat about an ounce of cheese a day. I am primarily eating a lot of poultry and seafood (shrimp/tuna/sardines). I am not a huge fan of eggs, so for breakfast today I had a brats.

Anyway, I don't think it will be a problem if you switch, as long as you don't consume more calories than you burn and don't make your entire calorie load consist of carbs, especially since carbs make you even hungrier.
Reasons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2011, 12:40 PM   #3