Old 02-28-2009, 09:01 PM   #1  
mmm nutella

S/C/G: 177/see ticker/135

Height: 5' 5 1/2"

Talking OT: I'm going to Paris!!!

I've been saving money ever since I graduated from University in the fall for a trip to Europe, and my friend and I just booked our flight which leaves on the tenth of March from Toronto to Paris and then we're traveling to different Italian cities (Milan, day trip to Venice, Rome and then Florence, possibly also a day trip to Pompeii) and leaving from Florence on the 27th!

I'm soooooooo excited. Does any one have any advice for me? Things to avoid? Things to definitely see? Is the Eurail any easier to figure out when you get there cause the internet sites seem confusing.

Also, if any one has any advice on what to bring with me/what not to bring it would be great cause I'm a chronic overpacker.

Okay, I'm gonna go pace my house and squeel with excitement to myself some more!
hotnewspirits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 10:16 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 170/Ticker/124-126

Height: 5'3"

YAY!! ive never been to Paris!
jahjah1223 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 05:49 AM   #3  
Joggernaut

S/C/G: 172/165

Height: 5'2

I was last in Paris in '99 with my hs so I'm no help there. Went to the Eiffel Tour, Louvre, Notre Dame, Seine boat trip.

I was just in Venice, Florence and Rome recently. I actually wouldn't recommend the Eurail pass. If I were you I'd fly from Paris to Milan and then buy individual train tickets. I bought one Eurail pass in Germany, it's way over priced. I felt it was easier to fly between cities or buy cheaper train tickets. Venice to Florence is only like 3-4 hours and the same for Florence to Rome. We were going to go to Naples/Pompeii too but I'm glad we didn't. There is so much to see in Rome, it's worth it to stay a few days. Traveling to Naples and back up to Florence will be a hassle, you have to go through Rome again.

I spent 7 days in Italy--two in Venice, two in Florence, three in Rome.