Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 01-29-2009, 08:20 PM   #1  
Health Nut Wannabe

S/C/G: 160/145/135

Height: 5'7"

Default The Dreaded ARMFAT!

I'm sure that I'm not the only one here with some extra arm fat, right? It's definitely my #1 problem spot. I have lost 15 pounds and I do 30 minutes of cardio (elliptical) at least 5 times a week and I lift weights very other day. Here's what arm exercises I'm doing...

3x12 Dips
3x12 Arnolds (8 lbs weights)
3x10 Concentrated curls (8 lbs weights)
3x15 Overhead triceps extensions (5 lbs weights)
3x12 Overhead Press (8 lbs weights)

I've been working on my arms for 3 months now. It is starting to seem that I will have fat/flabby arms even after I reach my goal weight!

My questions....
1. What could I be doing better?
2. What could I be doing different?
3. Should I continue to increase the weight I am lifting when the current weight becomes to heavy? (I started with 3 lbs)
4. Am I doing something wrong?

Don't get me wrong, I do notice a DIFFERENCE in my arms. When I flex them, the muscles are large and hard! When they're not flexed...they just dangle like the rest of the fat on my bod. What is up??

Thanks in advance!
Die2BHealthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 01:03 AM   #2  
Hug a Tree!

Height: 4'9"

Well, lifting weights does not make your arms smaller. You can't spot reduce. Overall fat loss is what makes the arms smaller. And sometimes arms are STUBBORN. I know mine are. I haven't lost a single centimeter in my arms. Drives me nuts!

As far as what you are doing...Arnolds are debatable. Many people do them but others feel they can hurt your shoulders. I won't do them. I'm careful about my shoulders.