Old 11-23-2007, 06:41 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 250/168/150

Height: 5'4"

Default I had a really great thanksgiving!

..is it wrong to not to be around my own family because they're overly critial of my weight?

it was GREAT to be with someone else's family for a change this year at thanksgiving..
I don't post a whole ton, so for those who don't know, my HW was somewhere around 230... if not more. I didn't get on a scale for about a month after I started dieting during my "first round" I was too scared...
I've been maintaining around 200 for about 2 years, though i had initially lost around 60lbs, i gained 30 back the first year due to stress and other issues...

anyHOW..
I spent my first thanksgiving with my bf's family instead of my own and what a relief it was! this is the first year we decided to choose a family instead of splitting up and going our own ways...

no one there except my bf knew me at my HW, so I didn't have to hear a SINGLE thing about how i looked, how my clothes fit (except when my bf told me my behind looked great in my new size 12 jeans, lol!), NO ONE was watching what I ate except for ME, I didn't get a single look when I took THREE desserts (tiny slices, hey, it was thanksgiving!)
It was amazing! As far as they all know, I'm a size 12, not a 20.. and while the numbers on the scale say "obese" I must have looked like just an average sized/chubby person to them. I assume that's how I look to most other people now...
I wish I felt that way but the numbers on the tape measure and the sizes on my clothes will catch up to my brain eventually..

It felt so good for once to be accepted for who I am, and not seen as "the only person in the family with a weight problem" Which i am NOT, but it seems like they focus on me the most because I've been struggling with my weight my entire life, whereas my older sister "used to be thin" which somehow makes her current morbid obesity somehow ok.

I think I'm going to be spending a lot more holidays over there...