Old 08-29-2007, 03:02 PM   #1  
Starting Over (again)

S/C/G: 229/183/145

Height: 5'8"

Exclamation Please Help Me!

I've been attempting to do OA now for about 2 months. I'm having a really hard time finding a sponsor, and for the past couple of weeks I've missed my meetings. My biggest problem is this... I can't seem to stop overeating after work! I am good at work, I pray to my HP and the day seems to go by smoothly, but the minute I get in my car to head home, the strength seems to vanish. I find myself bingeing after work, and no matter how much I pray, and ask for strength, I succomb to the food. I know I need to get to meetings, but I always seem to make excuses for that, or something will come up, and I can't go. It just seems like the motivation I had for the first couple of weeks has vanished, and maybe I just don't want to quit overeating. I believe that OA is the place for me, but just like the other diets I have tried in the past, I am slowly losing interest, and the food is taking control again. Please help me, I really need some suggestions on staying focused, and motivated. I know that the program works, and I really want to be in it for the long haul, but I need some tips on HOW to work the program.
shelliebellie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2007, 04:07 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 170/143/125

Height: 5'4"

i've just started OA, so i can't help you too much, but at my most recent meeting (it was my third), several other members impressed upon me the importance of calling others. i don't yet have a sponsor, i really need one too, but i am comforted to know that i can call fellow members even though they aren't my sponsor! there are people to talk to... try reaching out. asking for help is an incredibly difficult thing for me to do, but if you come home from work and pick up the phone FIRST, you have a much better chance of avoiding the binge. best wishes to you; don't give up!
iriswhispers is offline   Reply With Quote