Old 10-20-2012, 10:30 AM   #1  
Newbie Nurse

S/C/G: 285/250/281

Height: 5'9"

Default How do you balance life and weight loss?

I'm really struggling with it. I know what I need to do but it's becoming increasingly more difficult to do so. I've gone down the weight loss loss before. Once losing 55lbs and gaining it back; then losing 30lbs and gaining it back. So here I am again.

I'm a nursing student with consuming 80% of my time (lectures 2x weekly, exams, papers, labs, clinicals 2x weekly, endless amounts of studying). I work 2x a week at the craziest, most stressful nursing home in America. I help my disabled mother at home. I do all the cooking, cleaning, errands, laundry...

Even the smallest tasks are starting to burn me out. My mom says I really need to start taking care of my self. Diabetes and heart disease risk is massive so I get it. It's just hard to worry about eating right and exercise (or even putting on clothes other than sweats and tees or coming my hair for that matter) when I have all this going on right now. I'm on the back burner in my own life.

I was considering dropping down my hours at work to just every other weekend to give me a little breathing room even though I need that money.

I'm not sure what to do but I have to do something.

Any suggestions, stories, advice? I am going nuts!
JMfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 11:47 AM   #2  
Big-time loser

S/C/G: 306.6/247.2/156-164

Height: 5'8"

I think if any of us really knew the answer to this question, we wouldn't be here. I'm sorry things are rough now. Focus on 1 healthy habit at a time: saying eating 5 servings of vegetables a day and make that your goal for a week. If you find exercise stress-reducing, carve out 20 minutes everyday for it. At a certain point it's about just doing it, y'know? Taking the time for yourself and not feeling guilty about it.
jenicra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 01:05 PM   #3  
drifting downward!