3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community

3 Fat Chicks on a Diet Weight Loss Community (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/)
-   20-Somethings (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/20-somethings-56/)
-   -   Are your parents thinner than you? (https://www.3fatchicks.com/forum/20-somethings/262915-your-parents-thinner-than-you.html)

namaste984 07-16-2012 12:52 PM

My mom is morbidly obese, and so is my sister. My sister is autistic and doesn't really have much options for food choices, so she usually gets (and likes!) the same high fat stuff my mom likes to eat. My dad is a little overweight but he is trying to get in shape. As for me, I work out six to seven days a week and eat a mostly plant-based diet, some chicken from time to time, and weigh 219 (I'm just starting out... again), which is actually less than my mom. :)

My mom used to make cutting comments about my weight, but now that I'm losing weight and she's gaining, she tends to compliment me more for things I'm doing right. Plus she has kind of mellowed out a little as she's gotten older. My dad never insulted my weight or mom's but my grandma (my dad's mom) did somewhat.

krampus 07-16-2012 01:16 PM

I'm adopted so no genetic connection to my parents. I also don't live with them and haven't for a while so it doesn't matter much at this point...

My mom was skinny growing up, she got married at 23 weighing 110 at 5'6. My dad was a chubby kid, got athletic, and was in great shape until maybe 20 years ago when he started eating badly and stopped exercising. Now he's obese and can barely walk a mile without serious knee problems.

Flattum2be 07-17-2012 03:47 AM

I'm just amazed at the profound influence our mothers have on our self esteem and I'm starting to question my actions around my 7 yo daughter.