Old 02-23-2009, 09:45 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 167/140/115

Height: 5'2"

Default Advice? My ED is ruining my relationship.

I'm completely new to this so sorry if my post is no good.

I am struggling with binge eating disorder and it's really starting to ruin my relationship. I have issues with social eating as I would prefer to just eat whatever I want in privacy. Often times, I don't eat excessive calories, but just large amounts of healthy foods.

My boyfriend is amazing and wants me to move in with him (we've been together for over a year now), but I know that it wouldn't work. I find myself starting fights with him sometimes just to get him to leave so I can binge. I can't really even eat a full meal with him around. I've always had problems eating in relationships, but this is getting ridiculous. I've shared my meal plan with him from my nutritionist and have even told him what I usually eat.

I guess my question is, has anyone had a similar issue in which you meet an amazing guy after your ED has gotten completely out of control? How do you help him understand your problem (he thinks I'm anorexic because I can't eat around him) and eventually get to the point where you can eat normally around him? Does anyone have any advice or suggestions? It's sad to think that you might actually break up with a great person just because you can't get your bingeing under control.
Precious485 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2009, 09:58 PM   #2  
Joggernaut

S/C/G: 172/165

Height: 5'2

Actually being in a relationship HELPS my ED/binging. I can't binge in front of my boyfriend so I don't... I'm around him a lot so there's like no time to binge. I have binged since we've been together but not nearly as bad as I used to and also I haven't at all in almost a year (been together 2.5 yrs).