Old 06-19-2008, 02:32 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 327/270/199

Height: 5'11

Question I'm ready to start exercising.... where do I begin?

Ok, I've been watching what I've been eating for a few weeks have been doing pretty good. I'm realizing that I really want to start working out. I'm new to CA and not really where to start. I work in one area and it's about an hour commute each way. Do I get a gym by my work or by my house, which I think I may be moving in a little over a month.

I'm also curious to see if I should get a trainer. I want someone that will help me stick to a fitness plan. I used to play basketball when I was younger, but I have a rod in my right leg from breaking it in '99. I have to stick to low impact things or it will really hurt.

What do you suggest I do? And I really want a trainer how do I go about looking for one? How do I find a gym? I would rather go somewhere than be left up to my own at home.... which won't happen. I need help!
Here we go again is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 03:33 PM   #2  
Just keep moving ...

S/C/G: 241/238/140

Height: Just short enough (aka 5'4")

Hey - congrats on your loss thus far and your decision to start exercising. There's a sticky thread in the exercise forum on how to pick a personal trainer that I've read and thought was really good. I've not tried one yet, though.

If it were me I'd get a gym by my work, especially since you may be moving at some point soon. That way, you could either work out before of after work.

Good luck and keep us posted on your progress!
Amarie2pt0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 03:39 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 230/219/155

Height: 5'7"