Closed Thread

Old 05-19-2003, 03:20 PM   #1  
Want to feel better

S/C/G: S/C/G: 240/205/150

Height: 5' 0"

Default A question

Hello everyone!

I have a question ~ do any of you have problems with foot pain or joint pain and stiffness. (I am a nurse and on my feet a lot.) When you had lost a good amount of weight, did you have less pain and stiffness. I feel that probably my size has a lot to do with it, but I know smaller people whose feet pain them. I guess I am just looking for some hope here ~ not that I would give up if I found out that losing weight didn't help that, just hopeful that it will help.

Thank you for your help.

Gayle
Old 05-19-2003, 03:31 PM   #2  

Gayle,

I'm already finding that I have a lot less aches and pains. I used to wake up every morning with my back sore and hurting, but not any more. I also used to have a lot of pain in my feet when I would get up in the morning, and it's much less now. It's not completely gone, but it is better.

I don't know if this helps any or not, it's just one point of view.

Hang in there!
Old 05-19-2003, 03:33 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 302/179/170

Height: 5'6"

i am having intense ankle/calf pains lately, from trying to start a running program and weighing over 200 lbs still. i'm praying that it will get better as i lose more weight.
Old 05-19-2003, 04:27 PM   #4  
Old Cackler

holly... you DO stretch before you run, don't you???? <please say yes.. or i'll be very disillusioned with you>

and gayle, yes. the leg pain does indeed get better. no more vioxx. no more advil. no more motrin.

AND, in the category of 'i didn't believe it when they told me, and they were right,' the physical therapist told me that if i strengthened my thigh muslcles that the knee pain would lessen considerably, as the muscles would bear the brunt of the jostling and not the joint.
Old 05-19-2003, 07:08 PM   #5  
WW on-line since 1/1/2009

S/C/G: see ticker

Height: 5'5"