Closed Thread

Old 03-08-2001, 12:09 AM   #1  

I've been on and off for the past year. After the Holidays in Dec. I was doing great! Then at the end of Jan. I got laid off at work and I've gained 9.5 lbs!!! When I worked I had a routine for eating, now that I've been home I'm eating everything. The first two weeks being depressed about work I let it go but now I can't get into a new routine. I don't plan on getting another job until mid-April. Does anone have any suggestions how to keep my eating to breakfast, lunch, dinner and a few low point snacks in between rather than eating whenever I want? I can't seen to get it back together. Thx.

(un)Luckyred8
Old 03-08-2001, 07:41 AM   #2  

Default Don't Give Up!

Hi Lucky,

I know that it is hard when you are home most of the day. I'm a student and it's much easier to walk to the fridge on a break. There are a few things you could try that have worked for me.

- Only eat at the kitchen table - so this way your eating is confined to set meals at the table - this helps stop your grazing (e.g., standing and opening the fridge, grabbing something, and walking back to the couch with it).

- Have low fat snacks on hand in a designated snack bowl. This might help so that if you can't resist the urge to snack, then you have something healthy. I like to stock mine with low-fat popcorn, fruit (plums are a favourite), and low-fat granola bars. In the freezer I stock fat free fudgiscles (for 1 pt) - they are fab!!! (esp. for the chocolate cravings).

- Make time to do stuff for yourself. If you feel the urge to gravitate to the fridge, try doing something else ... like put on a CD and listen to a tune, take a bath, step outside for some fresh air, have a drink of water, or go on-line. Maybe it's just a way of telling yourself that you're kind of bored with what you're doing at that moment and would like a change. Try something new!

Anyway, these are just suggestions ... good luck!!!

JB
Old 03-08-2001, 09:03 AM   #3