Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 08-26-2013, 08:52 PM   #1  
BELIEVE

S/C/G: 215/---/145

Height: 5'8

Question IUDs and Weight Loss, Is it Possible? Suggestions?

Okay, so I've done some research on the matter, and it seems to go both ways. So I guess I'm looking for some people to give me some honest answers in order for me to make an honest decision. I am pretty convinced on getting the Marina IUD. In fact, I have an appointment scheduled for next month. It looks like a convenient option as I am looking for something to regulate my heavy flow more so than a birth control option itself. I have heard negatives about pills, shots, etc. and my doc said weight loss is still very possible on this form of birth control. But stuff I read on the internet seems to say otherwise. I would be willing to tough it out until December or something so I could get to a point where I'd only have 30 or so lbs to go...but I don't want to screw myself over. I'm a university student so once I get something put in I'd pretty much be stuck with it until next summer, maybe longer (and I certainly can't afford to gain weight). Should I pass on the IUD? Hold off until all the weight gets off? Or is it all myths... If it is true, then are there any forms of birth control that can regulate time of the month as well as allow weight loss/eventual maintenance with few side effects? Sorry, I know this was long, I just can't afford and mistakes here. Thanks in advance!
KillerBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 09:06 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 293/ticker/170

Height: 5'6"

Have you given birth at least once? That is kind of a requirement.

You can gain, but for me, the gain was minimal. You can lose....I am at 60+ and still going.