Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 05-25-2007, 01:24 PM   #1  

Default Eating at night = ARG!

Hi all! I'm new to this diet forum (and to dieting in general...). Basically I have about 5 pounds to lose, but I'm having some problems with eating at night. I can make it through the day just fine on a pre-planned, healthy, habitual meal plan that I enjoy...I DON'T feel hungry or deprived during the day, but then at night, ESPECIALLY in the middle of the night, I wake up HUNGRY and don't know what to do!

Usually I'll grab an apple and yogurt, but sometimes I end up having 300-400 calories worth of yogurt at night! It's odd because I can tell when I'm 'too hungry' to sleep through the night and I'll end up getting up multiple times because I feel restless...I don't really know how to describe it. .. Basically it leaves me feeling like a horrible person the next morning (and the sleep deprivation isn't helping my mood!).

I've been struggling with this for awhile and I'm just getting frustrated and can't help feeling like I'm a worthless person with no self-control...Has anyone else gone through this and has some advice/ideas on how to avoid it? I've tried adding more food during the day but it just feels unnatural because I'm honestly *not* hungry during the day...I feel like I'm at the end of my rope.

Thanks for your help!
Arashii01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2007, 01:36 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 209/209/160

Height: 5'9

That's tough! Are you actually waking up in the middle of the night to eat? Maybe that is something to discuss with your doctor. You're not a worthless person with no self-control--you just need to figure out an eating plan that conforms to the demands of YOUR body.