South Beach Diet Fat Chicks on the Beach!

Closed Thread

Old 01-10-2006, 12:06 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 193.8/188.6/160

Default Americans & wider car design

It always makes me sad when I read a news story like this. On one hand, it's good to see they realize a product must change to accomodate the population that will use it. On the other hand, WE ARE THE ONLY COUNTRY that needs to have these changes made. That should tell us something about how we eat. 62% of Americans are considered overweight or obese. That is an astonishing number.

The news story in brief:

Some American car manufacturers have already done it over the years without much hoopla but now the foreign car makers are jumping on the bandwagon.
The industry is once again widening the seats and even the width of the cars themselves to accomodate America's ever-growing girth.

I used to work in the auto industry for Mazda and I am really starting to wonder what foreigners must think of us. Years ago they would actually change the names of some foreign cars being shipped to America because they thought we Americans wouldn't 'get' it. A classic example...remember Datsun? We were the only country that called a Nissan by that name. In every other country around the world they were known as a Nissan. Of course now that has changed. But my point being we must be looked upon as the dumbest and unhealthiest country on the planet.
Old 01-10-2006, 12:16 PM   #2  
Who needs sleep?

The car names thing goes both ways - remember what a flop the Chevy Nova was in Mexico?

And as I understand it, the reason Nissan chose to go with Datsun initially (Nissan being Datsun's parent company) was because Nissan had manufactured military equipment in WW2, and it was felt that that would be an issue for some westerners (not just Americans). So in order to distance themselves from the parent brand name, they chose to use a different name.

Last edited by H-ko; 01-10-2006 at 12:21 PM.
Old 01-10-2006, 12:38 PM   #3