PCOS/Insulin Resistance Support Support for us with any of the following: Insulin Resistance, Syndrome X, Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, or other endocrine disorders.

Old 07-24-2008, 04:00 PM   #1  
A Mighty Thump

Height: 5 feet 4 inches!

Default Not new to 3FC, new to PCOS!

Hello all,

I've been floating around 3FC since March 2004 and last week was diagnosed with PCOS and I'm looking for some support.

I joined 3FC in March 2004 when I was 208lbs and was succesful with the weight loss until June 2007 when I fell off the wagon big time after getting down to 174lbs. Weight loss has always been very hard for me and I always wondered why, even when I worked my *** off at the gym and ate clean I could only manage a 1-2lb loss per month. Well, maybe now I have my answer.

I've since put most of the weight back on and I'm now at 202lbs. I found out on Friday that I have PCOS although thankfully my doctor thinks it's mild. I do have some extra unwanted hair in places I'd rather not have it, I have mild depression, periods have gone all iffy and I've had constant period pains the past 3 months! Doc has started me on Metformin which I've been taking since Friday with success (no side effects so far). I'm also going back on the pill to help regulate my periods again.

Doctor has also instructed me to lose weight and change my diet, she wants me to go low carb. Now, the only experience I've had eating low carb was with Atkins years ago which I really didn't like. I've got a good understanding of what's bad to eat, my problem lies with putting it to practical use but now that my health depends on it, I have no choice. I'm going to be cutting out the white stuff, so no white rice, pasta, bread. I don't each much bread anyway. Should I be reducing the amount of wholewheat pasta I eat, period? What about brown rice? I see lots of threads which I'm going to trawl through .