Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 08-05-2011, 03:03 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 230/149/138

Height: 5'6

Default Pilates help

I've been going to the Y since March and I've taken quite a few of the cardio classes, but I'm really curious about Pilates (and Yoga, but that's a different topic, hah!). My issue is, it's in a closed room so I cannot peak inside and I have never done Pilates (or even really seen it, I don't think) - so I've been shying away from it because I just don't know what to expect or what it is.

I've seen photos online of Pilates moves...but past that, I'm a total newbie.

Anyone here that could offer some guidance? I assume I'd wear yoga-type clothing, so I'm okay there. I even bought a yoga mat (never used it) so I'm okay there. I'm wondering if it is appropriate for someone who isn't particularly flexible, with very, very bad knees (two surgeries, and pending double knee replacement) and some back problems (I've had back surgery). BTW, I'm only 40 - so my joint problems aren't really due to age, they are due to past injuries.

I'd like to try something new, and I'd like to increase strength & flexibility - seems like Pilates is a natural fit?
Lunula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2011, 03:16 PM   #2  

Hi Lunula! I'll be turning 40 soon - who said 40 was old? LOL. Anyway, I've been a devotee of Pilates for the last four years. In fact, I plan on doing some tonight after my kids are in bed.

Pilates will make you flexible the more you do it. It's a very gentle exercise so it's perfect for someone like you. They focus a lot on your breathing and the powerhouse (which is your core) in Pilates. There are modifications to the moves as well if you need it.

Before Pilates, I wasn't able to stand and touch my toes because my hamstrings would hurt like crazy, now no problem. I find it to be a great stress reliever too.

Hope that helps. Good luck.
fitmom is offline   Reply With Quote