Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 04-01-2008, 04:22 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 170/140

Height: 5'4''

Arrow What exercises are best for those with little time?

Hi everyone! I'm new to 3FC and am in need of some guidance. I work nights as a nurse in a very busy ICU. Needless to say, by the time I get home, I'm extremely tired and go to bed immediately. I work three 12 hour shifts a week, and I usually end up sleeping the day before and the day after I get off of work. I'm looking for some exercises that will burn fat (of course!) and promote toning. I already have the muscle, it's just burried under fat! My problem area is mainly my middle section. My diet isn't really a problem. If there are some intense and/or very effective exercises that I could squeeze in before bed or on my days off that you can share with me, I'd appreciate it so very much!

ash
ashRN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 02:34 PM   #2  
Rennie

S/C/G: 228/Ticker/120

Height: 4 foot 11 inches

ashrn
I happen to like Leslie Sansone walking/aerobic videos. I use dumbbells with some of them. They are a nice all over cardio workout and you get resistance training by using a booster, such as a dumbbell with the workout. You burn calories, build muscle and tone all at the same time. This in no way means you get enough muscle building going on but they are a nice all around workout. I am sure others will post great ideas to get good workouts in a short period of time. I have a friend that is a nurse and she told me a few things she does at work. Kick backs, raiseing the foot to the bum, while she stands and does paper work. Carrys a set of dumbbells and raises them up above her head and out to the sides while she walks the halls. She also says she does squats while doing paper work too. Hope some of this helps.
Shy Moment is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 03:13 PM   #3  

S/C/G: 210/164/140

Height: 5'8"