PCOS/Insulin Resistance Support Support for us with any of the following: Insulin Resistance, Syndrome X, Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, or other endocrine disorders.

Old 01-04-2006, 06:01 PM   #1  
250/ticker/160

Height: 5"9

Talking A little skeeeeered :) Advice needed!

Hi girls I've been lurking in this sub forum for quite a while because I've had all of the same pcos symptoms since I was 16. I've finally got up the nerve to go to a gyno regarding my symptoms and hope that he can tell me if it pcos. I'm a clinic nurse so I'm going to a doctor in another town because it would be so humiliating to tell the doctors I work for about my facial hair, body hair, abnormal periods, etc, etc.

So how do you think I should go about it? Should I just say "hey, I think I have pcos!" or should I just give him all the symptoms? Also, both of my girls (ages 3 and 11) have a lot of hair growth on their backs and legs, should I worry about them yet or just take it one step at a time??

One more question. It looks like most of you have been given metformin. Has this caused anyone to GAIN weight, that you know of??

I'm not so concerned about the abnormal periods because it's been that way my whole life, but I think I'm ready to face the problem of excess hair which has been my 'big secret' for over 10 years now. I've only told one person in my whole life that I had it and she had no idea what I was talking about.

Has anyone gone through that, where it's SO EMBARRASING that you don't even want a doctor to know??

Thanks so much for reading this, it's nice to have a place to safely talk about something which I've always tried to keep hidden.

Lacey
bnbsmommy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2006, 07:26 AM   #2  
250/ticker/160

29 reads and no replies

Going in today....everything will work out
Old 01-06-2006, 09:15 AM   #3  

Default There may be hope