Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 01-20-2017, 01:00 AM   #1  

Default First Timer

Hello. This is my first time trying something like this, a "support group." I am hoping that by coming here I can find some motivation to help me in my journey to a new healthier lifestyle.

I've always struggled with my weight and the only thing that helped me lose once before was to basically quit eating except for a small meal in the evening. I know that's not healthy and I put all the weight back on since then.

I have been overweight all my life, and have hit an all time high of 450 pounds. I can't go on like this. I deal with anxiety, depression and chronic pain every day and so I feel like the cycle is never ending. My doctor seems to think most of my issues come from my underactive thyroid, which I'm on medication for. I've been sleeping a lot lately as well to try to keep from dealing with all of it. The only time it doesn't seem to hit me is when I'm at work where I'm constantly distracted, but after about 4-5 hours on my feet, I'm in so much pain that I can't stand it.

My goal here is to find motivation from others, and some tips and pointers for the best ways to overcome food cravings.
ladymcc87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2017, 01:02 AM   #2  

Yeah, don't quit eating, that's no fun. Welcome to the forum! Poke around, and see if any of the boards interest you. Then, hunker down and start making friends!

My recommendation: choose one goal to focus on a month. The benefit of this strategy means you give yourself permission to focus on one thing at a time. At the end of the month, you've 'mastered' (at least in theory) that habit, and you're ready for the next one!