Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 01-12-2012, 01:07 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 250/250/(mini goal) 230

Height: 5ft. even

Question New to all of this...where do I start?

Hi everyone! I am new to not just the site, but the whole weight loss thing in general. I am 27 and have been heavy as long as I can remember. My mom and sister and both heavy, my dad is not, but weight is never something that was talked about in my house. We were never taught portion sizes or healthy eating. Mom cooked whatever tasted good and used food for everything! To cheer up, to celebrate, for boredom...it was always food.

I have always been unhappy with my body but just recently it has gotten to the point where I am getting depressed and ashamed of the way I look. I won't allow my wonderful boyfriend of two years to even take pictures of me cause I don't wanna see the end result. I have done countless diets, shakes, yoga and gave up after weeks and no results.

It needs to change! This weight needs to come off of me so I can start to feel comfortable in my own skin...Where do I start!?!
Tahra513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 02:02 AM   #2  
Katrina

S/C/G: 162/see ticker/130

Height: 5'6

You need to start by finding out your BMR. You can do this by googleing "BMR" Calculator. This will tell you how many calories you would burn if you were to lay in bed all day. Next, you need to find a calorie in-take calculator and see how many calories you should be consuming each day based on your weight, activity level and desired speed.

From there you just need to try and eat around that many calories a day. Please remember, that your NET intake of calories per day should never be below 1200, and that for even small woman, so I would start by never letting your net intake get below 1400.