Introductions Introduce yourselves and make new friends!

Old 09-16-2011, 01:17 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 197 / ticker / 140

Height: 5' 4"

Default Hi everyone and some of my fears.

Hi everyone,

I have been lurking for about two weeks but I figured it was time to do an introduction. My name is Marilyn and I live out of the San Francisco Bay Area (South Bay).

Like so many people, I have always been overweight my entire life. I wouldn't blame my parents as they did not grow up in the USA and my mother always home cooked all our meals. I want to say that I steadily stayed the same weight while I lived at home. It was only when I went out to college that I really ballooned. My max weight or all time high was 210 (when I graduated from college) but I quickly lost 10 pounds once I moved to California and have been hovering in the 198 range for the better part of the last 2.5 years.

Throughout the last 2.5 years I have tried many things, the most ridiculous of them being, I spent $6k on a trainer (that got me about 5 months worth), which helped me lost fat but all I did was gain muscle, so I never dropped out of the 194 range, which quickly went back to 198 range.

I'm not sure what it was but I wanted to lose weight but maybe my mind wasn't in it. In fact, I know that's what it was. My mind hasn't been in it.

Through all the random things I tried in the last 2.5 years, I never really drastically cut my calories. I wasn't gaining weight, but I wasn't losing and on average I would eat about 2000 calories per day. I tried a support group at the gym, that also failed, mostly because I wasn't ready to accept the support at that time.