Closed Thread

Old 08-09-2011, 12:00 AM   #1  
Jessica

S/C/G: 153/132/fit and confident

Height: 5'8"

Default changed to "mantinance" calories and Im STARVING.. please help me :( (cross posted)

posted this in general diet questions and figured this would probably be a better place... Im sorry if this isnt allowed! if not someone let me know!!

So I have been counting calories to lose weight for about 6 months, and have decided that I feel good with the size I am now and wanted to just maintain my weight. Ever since I changed my calorie intake (from a cycle between 1300-1500 calories per day) to 1800 per day, which is still lower than a lot of calculators have said what my matinance calories should be, but I didnt want to jump it up too high. Anyways Ive been sticking to 1800 for about a week and I have been STARVING for the past 4 days or so-- I rarely felt like this when I was cutting calories-- and now I have suddenly gotten this huge appetitie. Im still eating healthy foods- but Im STARVING... has anyone else experienced this or can help me out? I am 5'8" and weigh 124lbs, I usually start the day doing a workout video (beachbody insanity or p90x) then go to work as a waitress and then run 4-6 miles at the gym and then teach dance classes for 3-5 hours... so maybe that can help someone tell me how much I really SHOULD be eating? thanks so much everyone in advance! oh- and sensing "hunger levels" doesnt really work for me. If I dont count calories carefully I freak out and end up bingeing every time.. so as of right now thats not really an option- I know I'm slightly crazy.
Old 08-09-2011, 06:28 AM   #2  

Height: 5' 8"

danzin - I am naturually hungrier some days than others so I eat within a calorie range. My range is 1200 -1800. The days I am really hungry I eat at 1800 cals, and other days I eat as low as 1200 cals. It all averages out to be about 1500 cals a day. Could you start eating within a calorie range? Say 1600 - 2000 cals a day or 1500 - 2100?