Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 07-08-2011, 09:04 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 130/120/115

Height: 5'2"

Default I'm turning into a runner?! This sound familiar?

So ever since I was young, I've hated running. It's boring, it's uncomfortable, it takes too long, it sucks. I used to be a hardcore martial artist, and even then I hated to run. The fastest mile I ever ran was 9:30, and that was when I was at peak fitness in high school due to the martial arts...I've only ever ran 'the mile' 5 times, and that was in middle/high school. That's the longest I've run at a single stretch, one mile. I avoided running like the plague ever since.

Fast forward 7 years. I started 30 Day Shred mid-June, and I have feet/back problems (scoliosis/fallen arches). I noticed that the cardio segments--jump-rope, jumping jacks, oblique twists, etc--were killing my ankles. I realized if I pushed myself to do 30DS every day like I wanted to, I was running the risk of overuse injury...but if I jogged during the cardio segments, my ankles were fine.

So I jogged. Every day, every cardio segment.

I tried going back to doing jump-ropes and oblique twists...they hurt. So I jogged. In the downtime between other techniques, I felt compelled to jog in place, jog in circles. Instead of doing abs, I wanted to jog (I didn't though, still need to do those planks as much as I hate 'em).

Pretty soon I was jogging straight through each 2-minute cardio segment with no breaks. Those 2-minute segments turned into 3-minute segments, just for the heck of it. Extra cardio can't hurt, right?

30DS was becoming too easy, I still had energy after doing it, so I decided to try doing a kickboxing cardio routine for 20 minutes after 30DS. First day, foot cramps...like WHOA...not 5 minutes into the kickboxing. I stretched my feet out, and thought 'I really want more cardio today, I'm not tired...what if I run?'