Dieting with Obstacles Those with special health concerns such as diabetes, fibromyalgia, pregnancy, etc can post here for extra support and help.

Old 06-22-2011, 09:04 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 128/127/110

Height: 4'11"

Default Dieting changing medication response?

I've been dieting for a couple of months, have lost about 10lb, am eating healthily, and am on a calorie deficit of 400. I have PMDD and have also gone through an incredibly stressful crisis recently, both of which I am prescribed occasional Valium for. I only take 2mg, rarely more than one dose in a day or a few doses in a month, though recently I've had to take it for more days than usual (with my doctor's blessing, don't worry). These days, it is completely knocking me out every time I take it. If it's first thing in the morning, I am likely to go back to sleep for hours. I'm wobbly, dizzy, eyes not focusing too well. I'm coping, and it's better than an anxiety attack, but obviously it's not ideal. Now I know that because I have ME/CFIDS my reactions to meds are a bit odd, but in the past, this reaction was very rare indeed.

Could the process of weight loss be altering my response to medication? I'm going to bring this up with my GP, especially since she's about to put me on anti-epileptics for pain and those have pretty strong side-effects in terms of zombification, but meanwhile I'm just curious to know what other people have experienced.
Esofia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 09:20 AM   #2  

S/C/G: 202/187.8/130

Height: 5' 1''

This is a very important question!

I don't have your medical problem, but I do have high blood pressure, a very mesurable condition.

Having recently lost 10lb, I noticed last week that I felt a bit dizzy so I took my blood pressure reading and it was really low (81/59). I am now closely monitoring my pressure and will have to see my doctor to have the medication adjusted to compensate for the weight loss and diet change (that being the reduced salt).