Old 11-09-2009, 01:56 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 242.5/193.4/170

Height: 5'9"

Default This is all new to me!

Hello from a returning fat chick, many years have passed since I was serious about weight loss.

So, in lurking here I've been seeing The Beck Diet Solution over and over again, decided to check it out of the library. Read it this weekend and I'm afraid to start it.

What do I mean? Well, I've never tried to count calories before. The only successful weightloss I've ever had has been while eating low carbs and damn the calories. I hesitate to even think how many calories I was eating every day, but the pounds went down.

Looking at a 2200 daily calorie diet in her book SCARES me! That sounds like a lot of calories, first of all, and second of all, that doesn't look like a whole lot of food.

Do I need to change my mindset? Yep. Should I be grateful I get to start out with that many calories? Yep. The thing is, HOW do I do that?

Should I start tracking what I'm eating now? Write down everything I eat (every single unhealthy bite!!) and compare it to a sample day? Just bite the bullet and DO it?

Thanks in advance.
goodforme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2009, 11:07 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 230/ticker/154("Normal" BMI)

Height: 5'6"

I'm not familiar with the Beck Diet, but I agree with your suggestion. I would write down everything you eat (And measure it so you make sure you can calculate the correct # of calories). Do that for a week. Then cut it down. Either follwo the 2200 that Beck suggested, or just cut it back to 1500 or whatever # is good for a safe weight loss at your height/weight.
KDM322 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 12:05 AM   #3  

S/C/G: 238/227/150

Height: 5'6"