Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 11-07-2009, 03:19 PM   #1  

S/C/G: 215/188/150

Height: 5'4"

Default I blame my gym teachers

I often find myself thinking about phys ed class while I'm out exercising. I graduated from HS over 15yrs ago, but I can really remember the impact that my gym teachers had when I was in grade school: which was NOTHING! It infuriates me to think about it.

I wasn't the sportiest kid, not everybody has that naturally or confidently. But I wasn't a lost cause and none of my grade school gym teachers ever took the time to find out what I was capable of. Oh sure, they all flock and fawn over the natural athletes, the kids that love to play ball, the kids that can magicially do pull-ups (as if a 10yr old is pumpin iron on his off time and deserves a trophy for a pull up versus a 10yr old who can't do one). They love the students who run the whole mile, or the student that's not afraid of the ball.

But what about me? Do you think I WANTED to give up running the mile? Do you think I didn't WANT to do a pull-up? Might you have encouraged me and shown me how to do it rather than give me a failing grade, turn your back and focus on the sporty kids? Maybe you shouldn't have let team captains choose their teams, maybe you should have assigned teams and TAUGHT everyone how to participate because it didn't feel good to get picked last every single time... couldn't you see that? Every year it got worse... my "can't do" attitude got worse and worse and no teacher ever cared to said TRY.

I don't know where I'm going with this, all I remember is a series of fat gym teachers who were buddy buddy with some kids and ignored me and others like me. I am a teacher myself and I go out of my way to engage students regardless of their abilities. If you're in my class you get as much attention as anyone else, and evenmore so when I don't see you pushing yourself.