Exercise! Love it or hate it, let's motivate each other to just DO IT!

Old 06-23-2009, 11:10 AM   #1  

S/C/G: 213/213/150

Height: 5'8"

Default new to gym, questions

I recently joined a fitness center and I'm new to doing any kind of fitness stuff. At the moment I am limited as to what I can do-physical therapists orders.
But she did say I could do the 'fit @ any age' and PiYo (which says, 'all fitness levels'). And I've been doing the Feldenkrais class for a couple weeks.

My question is
what kind of shoes and clothes do I need for these classes?
I've read that I need to basically wear looser pants but need to wear a top that will show what my muscles are doing.
Any opinions, recommendations? I have a pair of walking shoes but not sure that I will even be wearing them doing the PiYo. They are rather heavy and would like to find a more lighter, more comfortable pair but htese may have to do for now. Money is tight.

I've left a message for the PiYo instructor to call me.

also, I'm totally confused about when to eat and exercise-before, after?

Help!
Oh 2 be me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2009, 08:13 PM   #2  

S/C/G: 315 heighest/Feb09 286/254/150

Height: 5ft 6 inches

My biggest recommendation to you is wear what you'll be comfortable in. If you're not comfortable in a tank top feel free to wear a loose tshirt. Especially when you're just getting used to working out in a gym setting it's important for you to feel at ease. For shoes you want something comfortable for standing in with good traction. I think gyms may prefer non dark soles which can scuff the floor but feel free to ask.