Weight Loss Support Give and get support here!

Old 10-21-2008, 11:40 PM   #1  

Default Anyone else ever felt this?

Hello all,

I'm new to the board, and hope to make helpful contributions. We're in this together. But first, may I ask for a tiny bit of support?

I'm a freshman in college. I swore to myself I'd stick to my weight-loss plan. I think I've done a decent job, but sometimes...you just have blue thoughts, you know? There are two things that get me down. I was wondering...have any of y'all ever experienced these.

The first thing is my cafeteria. The food is surprisingly high quality. Unfortunately, the moment I walk in, I am greeted with a towering table of sweets. Donuts, pastries, muffins, brownies...pretty much every food that, this time last year, would drive me into a happydance. The only way I can describe my feelings is corrosive lust. Haha, I feel like a character in a Jacobean tragedy. It's like "Curse you, donut, I want you more than words can ever know. You will be MINE!" But then I realize I can't, and I keep walking...but I tend to feel down, especially when others crowd around and walk off with all kinds of pastry goodness. Then, there's the hamburger/chickenburger grill that has everything from burgers to fingers to fries. Again, it's like "FRIED FOOD LUST!" And I guess it hits me even harder, that I have given over my life of daily fried food and bad habits, and it's never coming back. Yeah, I'm happy I eat so much healthier, but it's like that old, totally bad-for-you boyfriend that, even if you don't want a relationship, you just want to drag behind the nearest tree and...well, ahem.

How does one deal with this?